Happy Father’s Day to all the dad’s out there! I feel fortunate to have a dad who raised me to appreciate the world, and a husband who is the best ever father to my children. We’re going out to lunch with my dad, but I wanted to make something special for Clarke’s Father’s Day breakfast. As in previous blogs, you’ll notice that I obsess on what’s in season in my yard.

I had never heard of a Clafoutis before (kla-foo-tee), which is typically a French dessert made from cherries and a custard-like batter. As I searched the internet for “blueberries and figs,” I found a recipe that looked interesting. As written, it was gluten free, but I decided to incorporate a little of Julia Child’s technique so Clarke would like it. As a breakfast, this isn’t as sweet or rich as a traditional Clafoutis, but it was delicious, and had all the elements of a good breakfast – protein, carbs, fruit, dairy. If you prefer to make it as a dessert, look up the Julia Child recipe. I went out on a limb, but turns out it passed the Dad Test:

Blueberry & Fig  Breakfast Clafoutis

  • 2 cups fresh blueberries (see below if using frozen)
  • about 6 fresh figs sliced lengthwise – more or less depending on the size
  • 2T butter or coconut oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 4T agave or honey
  • 2t vanilla
  • 1/4 cup flour (or your choice gluten free substitute, rice flour, corn flour, etc.)
  • 2T corn starch
  • 1/4c ground almonds
  • 1/4t salt
  • 1-2T granulated sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Melt the oil or butter and use 1T to coat a ceramic baking dish, preferably round.  In a food processor (or use beaters) combine the egg, yogurt, agave or honey, vanilla, flour, corn starch, almonds and salt. Mix well, until the eggs are light and fluffy. Place the blueberries in the prepared dish (if using frozen berries, put them in the preheated oven for 5 minutes to defrost slightly). Pour the batter over blueberries. Dip the cut side of each fig half in the melted oil  or butter and arrange cut side up on top of the batter. Sprinkle the granulated sugar on top. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until golden and the egg is set. Allow to rest for about 10 minutes before serving.

A couple notes: As written, this would serve 4 generously, or 6 if you add other items to the breakfast. It went really well with fresh squeezed orange juice.  If you’re not a big fan of figs, any soft firm fruit would work as a substitute – such as sliced peaches (not too ripe), blackberries, even mango. Most important is that it’s not too juicy, which would make the custard runny. Also, sugar can be used instead of the honey or agave, but the fruit I used was especially sweet and I didn’t want to overpower it.

